PT 0.4.4 doesn't open any more on Ubuntu 18.04

Dear all, I have been using PT for several years and I find it amazing. Few days ago I opened it and I saw the black screen with the loading circles. At first I thought the database was down. After some days I uninstalled it and reinstalled but now it doesn’t even open any more.

Any idea/help about how to solve it? Thanks a lot in advance, warm regards :slight_smile:

I don’t know if you open it using the terminal. If not try to do it and send the output of the terminal.
I personally had the issue of the ‘infinite loading’ I solved it by running PT as root using sudo ./Popcorn-Time in the tarball archive. Ask me if you have question or want further support :slightly_smiling_face:

(edited) thanks a lot for your reply. Ehm…what exactly do you mean with tarball archive? The file .tar if I get it correct. How do you access that file as if it were a folder? I only have a .zip file. Sorry, I am not super skilled with Linux :slight_smile:

You’re right the tarball is the .tar file.

1. Extract the file in folder
  2. Click right in the folder > Open in terminal
  3. Write : ./Popcorn-Time or sudo ./Popcorn-Time to run it as root
  4. Give the output of the command : )

so I extract the .zip file in a folder called popcorntime. I opened the folder in the terminal and I copy-pasted your command. that’s what I got

~/Downloads/popcorntime$ sudo ./Popcorn-Time
[sudo] password for ale:
[8446:8473:0424/120420.025799:ERROR:bus.cc(393)] Failed to connect to the bus: Could not parse server address: Unknown address type (examples of valid types are “tcp” and on UNIX “unix”)

DevTools listening on ws://127.0.0.1:9222/devtools/browser/ecd54f98-5a59-4f30-8cd2-9902ff4452a0
[8469:8469:0424/120420.089955:ERROR:sandbox_linux.cc(376)] InitializeSandbox() called with multiple threads in process gpu-process.